WT-CLR.png

The Familial & Fraternal Order Of

The WALTER TRAMILY

2 0 2 1

WT-DECO21blk.jpg
2021 Map Graphics
Walter Annual 2021 Seal -Isle Royale

Expedition 2021

ISLE ROYALE

isle-royale-national-park-map.jpg
Isle Royale Route 2021.jpg
Trail_Mileage_Between_Campgrounds.jpg

WALTER TRAMILY ANNUAL - 2021 ITINERARY

ISLE ROYALE NATIONAL PARK, MICHIGAN

 

 

I. TRIP DETAILS 

 

Destination: Isle Royale National Park, Michigan

*JUNE AVGS: Daylight 16 hrs (9 hrs sunlight) | Precip 3.2” (High) | Temp 46-66 F

 

Destination Address: Grand Portage Marina 402 Upper Rd, 55605

 

Total Trip Mileage (RT): 1,085 miles (542 mi one-way) *Sioux Falls, SD > Grand Portage, MN

 

Trip Dates/Itinerary: Fri. June 11th ~ Weds. June 16th 

 

Day 1 of 6 (Fri. 11th): Travel *Depart Sioux Falls (on the road) BY 10 pm

Day 2 of 6 (Sat. 12th): Arrive Grand Portage Marina 8 am (EST) / Arrive on Island 10 am (EST)

                                    Day/Night #1 of 4 (Hike/Camp)

Day 3 of 6 (Sun. 13th): Day/Night #2 of 4 (Hike/Camp)

Day 4 of 6 (Mon. 14th): Day/Night #3 of 4 (Hike/Camp)

Day 5 of 6 (Tues. 15th): Day/Night #4 of 4 (Hike/Camp)

Day 6 of 6 (Weds. 16th): Travel *Depart Island 2:00 pm  / Arrive Grand Portage 3:30 pm

                                         Grand Portage, MN to >> Sioux Falls, SD = 8 hr 37 min [10 hrs est] 

                                         (541.9 mi) via MN-61 S

**EST ARRIVAL IN SF, SD 2:00 am Thurs. June 17th

 

Total Trip Expense (Each): $225 + food, personal & misc. expenses

 

 

 

II. TRAVEL (OUTBOUND/Arrival)

 

1. Sioux Falls, SD to >> Grand Portage, MN = 8 hr 37 min [10 hrs est] (541.9 mi) via MN-61 N

    *DEPART SF BY 10 PM - Friday, June 11th

 

2. Grand portage, MN | *Transportation Departure Location: Grand Portage Marina 402 Upper Rd, 55605

    *ARRIVE BY 8 AM - Saturday, June 12th

 

*Gas Est. = $180 +/-   

 

3. Ferry: Sea Hunter III 

 

*$152 ea RT

 

- Depart: Grand Portage, MN: 8:30 am CDT / 9:30 am EDT

 

[*NOTE: Leave SF, SD BY 10 PM NIGHT BEFORE +/-]

 

- Arrive: Windigo, Isle Royale : 10:00 am CDT / 11:00 am EDT

 

 

 

III. HIKING ROUTE & CAMPGROUND INFO

 

*Daily Entrance Fee $7 ea (x4 days = *$28 ea) + Camping Permits Required (FREE)

 

**Hike / Route Mileage Total (on foot) = 37.5 miles over 5 days (7.5 mi / day AVG)

*SEE MILEAGE CHART (PDF)

 

*Arrival Point Windigo Area / Washington Harbor | Campground Nearest Arrival Point is Washington Creek Campground

 

- Day / Night #1 (Sat. June 12): 

 

Washington Creek Campground (arrival location) >> Feldtmann Lake campground = 8.8 mi 

 

- Day / Night #2 (Sun. June 13): 

 

Feldtmann Lake campground >> Siskiwit Bay campground = 10.3 mi

 

- Day / Night #3 (Mon. June 14): 

 

Siskiwit Bay campground >> Island mine campground = 4.4 mi

 

- Day / Night #4 (Tue. June 15): 

 

 Island mine campground >> Huginnin Cove campground = 10 mi

 

- AM Day #5 (Wed. June 16): 

 

Huginnin Cove campground >> Washington Creek Campground (departure location) = 4 mi

 

 

 

IV. TRAVEL (INBOUND/Return)

 

1. Inbound Schedule (RETURN<<)

• Depart: Windigo, Isle Royale: 2:00 pm CDT / 3:00 pm EDT

• Arrive: Grand Portage, MN: 3:30 pm CDT / 4:30 pm EDT

 

2. Grand Portage, MN to >> Sioux Falls, SD = 8 hr 37 min [10 hrs est] (541.9 mi) via MN-61 S

    *DEPART GP BY 4 PM - Wednesday, June 16th | ARRIVE SF 2 AM (EST) - Thursday, June 17th

 

 

*SEE CORRELATING IMAGES:

 

1. Isle Royale Map / 2. Denoted Isle Royale Map (Route) / 3. Mileage Chart

WM-Initials-logo

© 2007-2021 Walter Media - Creative Arts Studios, LLC.

  • Facebook Social Icon